Sign of the Past

I took this picture with my phone this morning while I was walking.  I’ve seen this sign many times, but today I actually paid attention to it.  It’s on Walnut Street by the Christian Church.  I just wonder how old it actually is.  The man is wearing a hat and the style of clothes on the woman says 1950s or early 1960s to me.   Thought it was noteworthy.

Sign of a past era

9 comments on “Sign of the Past

  1. Jenni Nicole says:

    That’s a very interesting sign! I hope someday, if it ever gets taken down, that someone puts it to good use instead of just throwing it away.

  2. Angie Z. says:

    I’m a huge history buff and love, love, love old relics like this. Judging by dad’s hat and the length of mom’s dress, I’d guess early to mid 60s 🙂

  3. rose says:

    I’ll be darned. This sign was replaced today when I went by there. With one of those plain old yellow kids playing things. Sigh.

  4. Karen Fulk says:

    At least I now have a picture to put in My Family Tree stuff. Paul Curtis was my Grandfather and I used to attend the Christian Church. I don’t remember the sign. Sorry to hear that it is gone. I would have tried to see it the next time we come down to camp at White Oak.

    • rose says:

      I hope someone in the family has it but it is good we got the picture. I love finding things like that for my tree.

  5. luckyoldman says:

    I’ve been there to attend the funerals of more relatives than I can remember.

Leave a Reply

