January Contest

I am going to try something just for fun.  Each month I will take a picture of something in our area that has been around for awhile.  See if you know where it is.  Answer in the comment section below.

I have no prize to hand out.   Only a congratulatory shout out 🙂

I’ll let you know the answer at the end of the month.

I’ll give you some hints:

  • it’s in town Winslow
  • it’s not a cemetery

9 comments on “January Contest

  1. Anonymous says:

    It’s the old Young place in Muren. Next door to our old house.

  2. Sherry says:

    Fantastic idea, Rose. I haven’t a clue, but you can bet I will be looking!!!

  3. April says:

    Hmmm….not in a cemetery. Is it at the grocery store somewhere?

  4. Judy Young Foust says:

    Hi, Could this be on a step at the house of Leota Young Nelson, better known as Nanny worked at Brown’s grocery. Has daughter Jane, and son. On the corner, can’t remember name of street. The Picture you are using of Young at Muren is my Dads old house,Prentice Young and is about the only mine house still standing. Bessie Young’s house may still be on the hill too. Judy Young Foust, Cambelltown, In.

    • Mark Rothrock says:

      I remember walking down to Brown’s Grocery at lunchtime from Winslow High School and buying single bananas from Nanny. This would have been about 1970 or so. They sold them by weight, and we would try and see who could pick the biggest one from a bunch. I think I saw a 13 center once, but 7-11 cents was more common. Nanny was a friendly lady who put up with us. Probably me, Mike Meyer, John Quick, Alan Drew and Mike Jarvis were some of the culprits. Mark Rothrock, Danville, IN

      • rose says:

        Thanks for sharing that memory. Virginia Nelson was my neighbor for years and she worked at Browns. She told me how they would lay out bread all over the counter and start making ham salad sandwiches for the high school kids at lunch time. I loved Brown’s. I miss stores like that.

Leave a Reply

