Ice in My Lemonade

It’s the end of June, sweltering hot and everything is parched from the drought we are suffering.   It is 108 degrees today, beating the record high of 102 in 1936.  It feels like 118 degrees.

We are working on beating the record of 1936 for the drought also.  So far our 2012 rainfall is 11.53 inches.  In 1936 it was 27.94 for the year.

I think back to 1936.  Some folks around hereabouts didn’t even have electricity yet.  I imagine the swimming holes were crowded with skinny dippers.  I imagine they were more than grateful for shade trees.  I imagine a sleeping porch would have been divine.  I imagine a drink of cold water from the spring or the well would have tasted heavenly.

I am sitting here in the cool house with the luxury of central air conditioning, reading the gripes about the heat on Facebook.  I just poured a glass of fresh squeezed lemonade over a glass of ice.  Ice that I filled my glass with by sticking it up to the refrigerator door.

What about the ice?  Something I take for granted was once hard to come by.

My great grandparents, Aaron and Maggie Dixon Bolin in Muren.

My great grandparents wanted the ice man to leave them a 75 cent block of ice this day.

Kitty Keeton who grew up in the Muren area in the early 1900s, wrote about ice in his memoirs.

Another thing that Grandfather done was to have rough lumber from the trees sawed for general purposes — and one to build an ice house about a foot between the outside and inside filled with saw dust. The only cost of the saw dust was going to the mills with side board wagons to get free for the asking. When it was winter, the pond ice was sawed and hauled and stored inside this building—about 1 foot, and then saw dust was put on top of that. Then another layer and then the same until it reached the top. Same way of getting to top layer and going down. And through the summer when they wanted ice cream, they always had milk. Just get the ice from the ice house and freeze the ice cream. The ice wasn’t used for cooling water as it was usually from the ponds. Some people even went to the rivers or perhaps to the back water ice that the water usually left.

Kind of makes me appreciate the sound of ice tinkling into my glass of lemonade today while I lounge in my air conditioned home blogging.

12 comments on “Ice in My Lemonade

  1. Janet Fithian says:

    Really enjoyed reading this and I definitely remember all of them.

    • Anonymous says:

      i remember when mom and dad had a wooden ice box the top was for block ice and the bottom was for food and we couldnt keep it opened long or stuff would spoil

      • rose says:

        I’ve seen those. We should be thankful for the simplest things in life. Like ice 🙂

  2. Marie Cook Aldridge says:

    We never had an ice house, but we did have an ice box like the one described, and daddy would bring home ice from Huntingburg after work. it was really a treat to get the ice. I suppose he really flew home, I don’t know how he kept it from melting, wrapped in up in heavy sacks or quilts, i guess. My, how times have changed. So thankful for what we have.

  3. Memories are circling in my mind right now. I remember the old ice box and the ice thongs. Also remember the ledge on the outside of the window that we put pies on to keep them cool in the winter. I love these kind of memories.
    Beverly Dixon Schroeer

  4. Rose, I got cooler with each passing word in your post. Thanks for sharing!

  5. allangieselman says:

    A hardy group of folks back then. I went out this morning and did some weed whacking (it’s already 86 degrees) whacked for about an hour and had to quit. I’m not made of the same stuff my dad was!!!!

    • rose says:

      Isn’t that the truth? I remember laying in bed upstairs with the box fan in the window as a kid. I would wilt away if that was all we had now 🙂

  6. Anonymous says:

    These are my great great granparents

Leave a Reply

