Museum of The Coal Industry

We will travel hundreds of miles and use up those hard earned vacation hours to explore places, when we tend to ignore the places to explore in our own backyards.

The Museum of the Coal Industry  in Lynnville, Indiana is one such place for me.  For years people kept telling me I had to go there.  I always said, I will, I will.  Because it’s just right there I will do that someday.  Then more months would go by before I would even think of it again.

My friend Amber and I were out rambling around on backroads one day and I asked her if she would like to see it.  We made the plan, emailed Aja Mason and set it up.  We had about 3 hours to spend there.

I did not realize I would need the entire day to see everything I wanted to see and to hear everything I wanted to hear.

I am for sure going back and it won’t be months from now.

If you are interested in coal mine history you must visit there.  You might see your Grandpa’s name in a ledger showing what he made and what he owed the company store.  You might find your dad’s hard hat hanging on the wall.  You might see pictures of your ancestors or old home places that no longer are around.  You might see gadgets that open your eyes to how hard the work was for a coal miner in the old days.

Aja knew my interest was in the Muren area and he had this photo for me.  It was from an album titled “Bad Hair Days”.   And believe me, some of them were!

A coal bucket flooded in at the Muren Mine Pit.  1940

A coal shovel flooded in at the Muren Mine Pit. 1940.  I bet there was some cussing this day.

When you have one of these lovely spring or summer days open and feel like doing something close to home I suggest you check it out.

http://www.lynnvillecoalmuseum.org/

I bet if you emailed Aja ahead of time and told him when you would be there, who and what you were interested in, he would have something picked out to show you when you got there.

He knows the history of everything there and he can tell a story to go along with it.

It’s well worth the visit.

9 comments on “Museum of The Coal Industry

  1. allan gieselman says:

    How long has this been open? I have never heard of it before. My parents are laid to rest in Lynnville and we visit everytime we come up. Dad worked for Enos all his life. I spent many years running around everywhere. Tipple, repair shop, road on the shovel and bulldozer. Wondered around the “shooting” area (the good old days – no one ever stopped me). I will make sure to add a little extra time this Oct. (school reunion) to take this in…Thanks again…allan

    • rose says:

      It’s been there for several years. There is a lot of Enos stuff there. Aja knows a lot of that history. It’s out there by the park. It sits a little of the road. There is a sign on the highway at the drive.

      • allan gieselman says:

        What park – what road? I want to go see it this fall.

      • rose says:

        They have been there since 2000.

      • rose says:

        The Museum is located on State Road 68, 1 mile west of the State Road 61 intersection in Lynnville, which is just north of Interstate 64 – exit 39. See the Map below:.

        There is a map on the website link in the blog.

  2. I’ve been to Lynville but never heard of this. They’ve got a nice park up there we had fun wandering around in.

    • rose says:

      It’s right there at that park. You probably drove right past it. It sits off the road but there is a sign.

      • rose says:

        I guess that depends on which park 🙂 There is a map on the link in the blog.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Finally got to go there. Aja was there!!! Showed us around. Saw my father’s pictures of some of the Labor day parades (I was even in one as a child), some of him with the mine rescue team and saw his pay card from the month BEFORE I was born. Well worth the time and it’s free, but I bought a Coal T-shirt just to help support which I wear proudly! Thanks to Aja and the other “Old Geezers” that were sitting around shooting the “bull”. Well worth the trip if you have coal in your “bringing up”!!!

Leave a Reply

