Summertime and Family Reunions

Last year I received a dvd made up of old 8 mm family movies from my Aunt Bev.  There was a clip of some of our family reunions on it, taken by my Uncle Billy Joe at my grandma’s house in Maryville.  

While I am working on my genealogy, I have noticed how  family reunions nowadays are being planned.  Games, themes, pricey door prizes, matching t shirts and the like.   It made me think of our reunions when I was growing up.  Ours were not like that.  They were generally in a field or someone’s backyard.  They consisted of the men BSing each other at the washer holes, good homemade food, old ladies gossiping in webbed lawn chairs and a lot of running and playing if you were one of us kids.   I usually went home and broke out in a miserable case of poison ivy a few days later from wallering in the woods.  Probably partly due to the fact I was wearing dresses.  

I am the little girl in a dress in the front of this picture. It was the mid 1960s and I remember that dress. It was blue, very pretty and barnyard appropriate 🙂   I believe David Joe is beside me.  Karla Sue is at the end of the table.  Billy Joe and Bev are getting their food.  This was a reunion in Kentucky.

Bev is talking to Ma Bolin.  Aunt Clara and Aunt Ruth are the others I think.  This is the same reunion in Kentucky.  We would take the ferry over from Cannelton to Hawesville.  That was something to look forward to for us kids.

Several of our reunions were in Hawesville, Kentucky.  Someone down there made the best cherry pie in the world.  I knew this and looked forward to that cherry pie each year.  I am sure they picked and pitted the cherries and made the crust homemade.   My mouth is watering writing about it.

One of the scariest funniest things that ever happened down there was when a  smart aleck boy ate mistletoe berries.  We were all out in the woods playing.  The boys were always having a “pissing contest” with each other.   They were usually in two factions.  The home boys and the visiting boys and they were all wilder than march hares.  I’m sure it was a dare.  But for whatever stupid reason he ate the berries off of some wild mistletoe growing up in a tree.  Then everyone got scared.  Someone said the words, “it’s poison, he’ll die” and we all took off running back to the Momma’s.   So all of the Momma’s gather round him and start talking about what they can whip up to make him puke.  I don’t know what they finally did, but I can still to this day see that dumb kid puking in the middle of the circle of the Momma’s.

If I remembered more he probably got his butt whipped too.  That’s usually what happened when you scared the Momma’s.

A get together of Bolin’s at my Grandma’s house in Maryville. Faye, Susie and Gene.   Early 1960s.

Grandpa Aaron Bolin and his sister, Jane Bolin Gipson “Aunt Katie” at Grandma’s house in Maryville.  Mid 1960s.

A Family Reunion at the State Forest shelterhouse.  My Grandma Evans is in the white dress and high heels next to the shelterhouse.  It must have been after church.

1970s.  My dad, Chuck, and Grandpa John having a BS session while Ev doesn’t believe a word of it I would imagine.

I sure miss those reunions and those folks.

7 comments on “Summertime and Family Reunions

  1. Etta Eggleston says:

    Not sure if we were at this one but I do remember going to some reunions. Brings back lots of good memories.

  2. Diana Ross says:

    Those were wonderful days of family time together. Sure do miss them. Always hated to see the day end because it would be another year before we would get together again.

  3. ALLANGIESELMAN says:

    It’s sad. People today don’t have time for family reunions anymore. We are a few that still do it the old way..;0)

     

  4. Bev says:

    On my Mother’s side of my family…they have a family reunion every year still. She is 91 now and wasn’t able to make it from Colorado to Indiana this year.

  5. Anonymous says:

    I remember gene and that red hair lol.

  6. Claire Dixon says:

    Who hosted these reunions in Hawesville?

Leave a Reply

