Library Board Votes Against History Center

If you notice I keep editing this blog, it is hard to keep the facts straight.  But that’s the beauty of blogging, it’s fluid.  

I am so disappointed.

Our library board just voted against the History Center.  It was financially feasible and they voted against it.

Some want to give the old library building to the county commissioners for use as a storage building rather than use it as a history center for all of the county records.   The ironic part is that they might be storing the old county records in the building and I don’t think they will be available to the public.

They also said the county wanted it to tear down and build an ambulance barn. If that happens our records will leave the county and go to Indianapolis somewhere.   The Board did vote 4 to 3 against giving it to the County.

The board voted three for the History Center,  being Jim Dickerson, Sandy Ficklin, and Anisia Burkhardt.  Against it were Phil Elkins, Donna Poehlin, Frank Ropp and Robin Whaley.

So the fate of the building is in limbo.

11 comments on “Library Board Votes Against History Center

  1. Anonymous says:

    So disappointing, what is the reason.

    • Rose says:

      Honestly, they would not really say. One said something like who knows what the future holds financially and another said something about the county would like to put the new ambulance barn there. Which means they would be tearing it down and our records will go to Indy somewhere for sure. The other two did not give any reason. .

  2. Mike Dixon says:

    I am so disappointed. I live in an area that was settled almost a century later than Pike County Indiana, and we treasure our history and our heritage. My family was not a pioneer family here in the early 20th century, but it was a pioneer family in southern Indiana almost a hundred years before that. The Dixon, Bolin, Poehlin, Doerges, Boyd, Reed, Kinder (Guenther), McCalister, and so many others are our heritage, our life blood. Genealogy is a very important pursuit of so very many Americans today. Green County Pa, would tell your that it is a major source of revenue as families come from all over the world seeking information on their ancestors who came through that area. Their hotels are full. Their restaurants do really good with out of town visitors. Pike and Gibson Counties are pretty high on the list of crossroads that the pioneers used on their way west. Build motels. Open restaurants. Invite the genealogists to come. It is great economic development material. My family was in southern Indiana before 1820. They for the most part are still there today. I am not. My parents left 50 years ago and I treasure my Pike and Daviess County heritage. I come every year and every year my secondary goal is to learn more about my heritage there. (first is my desire to see my family, which is rapidly diminishing. But I still coming every year. The Dixon’s came from New Jersey. I have been to New Jersey to understand their lives there. The Bolin’s were supposedly from N C before Indiana. I have been there. The Other family members came from Virginia and North Carolina, Massachuesettes, and Pennsylvania. We have been to those places. My wife’s families came from Pennsylvania, New Amsterdam, Massachuesettes, Iowa, Illinois, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Nebraska and from Germany as well as Germanic settlements in Russia. Okay we have not been to Russia or Germany. But we have been to all the other places I have listed plus Scotland where some of my ancestors once lived. We will go all the other places in time. People will come to Pike County. I hope that someone has the authority to rethink and reverse this decision that is so unwise. Mike Dixon

  3. Savannah says:

    Sorry Rose 😦

  4. Joyce says:

    I don’t live in Pike County but I was born and lived there for some years.
    I have donated 2 or 3 books to the genealogy department.
    Does this allow me a vote or not?
    Joyce

  5. Rose says:

    Here I am once again revising my blog 🙂 I will be writing a letter to the County Commissioners and the County Council asking for their support of the History Center. I will include all of your comments in my letter. Thank you everyone for trying to save our history!

  6. Shirley Van Meter says:

    Thank you so very much, Rose, for your efforts to see the Historicl Center happen. Hopefully the Library Board will rethink there decision. This decision will affect many generations of Pike County natives. We must keep the pressure on them to make the right decision.

Leave a Reply

