A Trip to Patoka National Wildlife Refuge

My Momma and I decided to walk the trail at Maxey Marsh yesterday.  It was drizzling some rain then the sun popped out.  The fall colors were glowing.  It was gorgeous.  We drove the roads at the newly opened area of the Sycamore Land Trust.  My Momma had not been out there for years,  since it had been the old curvy Massey Road.  We talked about the man who had all of the old cars in sheds and truck beds that Dad used to trade with.  I wanted to share the photos of our outing.

Driving through the Ayrshire Road Barrens.

Driving through the Ayrshire Road Barrens.

DSCN0155

The field on my brother’s farm.

I'm sure this Marsh has a name.  It was across the road from Snakey Point.

I’m sure this Marsh has a name. It was across the road from Snakey Point.

I like the tree and the colors.

Colors.

Snakey Point Marsh

Snakey Point Marsh

Snakey Point when the sun came out.

Snakey Point when the sun came out.

Roads in the Sycamore Land Trust area

Roads in the Sycamore Land Trust area

Old Perlina Whitman's Barn

Perlina Whitman’s Old Barn

On the way home.

On the way home.

From the Sycamore Land Trust Page:   The Columbia Mine Preserve is now open for public use and enjoyment! Visitors are welcome to engage in passive recreational uses, including hiking, bird-watching, and photography. A Grand Opening Ceremony will be held on November 16, 2013 at 1:00 pm.

http://sycamorelandtrust.org/news/columbia-mine-opening

My friend Amber hosts a blog with nature photos taken around here.  Check it out at :   http://www.pikecountywilds.com/index.html

16 comments on “A Trip to Patoka National Wildlife Refuge

  1. allan gieselman says:

    Thank you again Rose for such a wonderful posting.It’s one of the things we miss living down here in the South. The COLOR!!!! We had hoped that there would be a little more color when we were up for the Winslow High School reunion but it was not to be. Thanks again!!!!

  2. joycel2012@frontier.com says:

    Rose, these are beautiful pictures. Joyce

    ________________________________

  3. Even though I no longer reside in Indiana, Pike County is still my home through and through. Have many relatives still living in the area and am looking forward to my next visit so I can check out this Preserve. Thanks for sharing these wonderful stories and events with us.

  4. Charley and Marie (Cook) Aldridge says:

    Pike County is the most beautiful in the fall. God love is shown in these beautiful scenes. Wonderful for those unable to travel to view these sights. Thanks so much.

  5. Sandra Hart says:

    How far is this from Indy? Hubby & I are always looking for new places to visit.

  6. Jeannine Heuring Houchins says:

    beautiful area is there a map where we can hike?

  7. Neva Rae Powers says:

    Just wanted you to know I printed out all of your posts and put them in a notebook for my Mother, Dorothy McInturf Powers for Christmas. I know how much she has enjoyed reading about the place of her childhood.

    • Rose says:

      That is so sweet of you! I have had more than a few people tell me I should put the blogs into a book,. I may work on that this year. Happy New Years!

  8. Rose says:

    Yes, it’s Rose Beyke, 300 East Center Street, Winslow, IN 47598. I can’t wait!!!

Leave a Reply

