Support For The Barrett Memorial Library History Center

The Library Board met once again on a  Saturday morning and voted once again to give the old library building to the County.

What seems to be in question is if the County wants it.   The only Council or Commissioner member who has said anything about it is Jeff Nelson and he does not want it from what I have read.  I hope the County thinks long and hard about this.  I hope they make the decision to refuse the offer of the building.   They will be the ones who will be remembered for giving away the  history of Pike County.  They and the Library Board members who are voting against it.

Forever our history  will be gone from us.  Never will we get it back.  What a loss it would be.

I am just hoping for a change of heart in all of those involved.  Those that we elected and put our trust in to make our decisions and spend our tax dollars in our best interests.

I received this very lovely email today.  Just think how we could progress and move forward with our history and genealogy if we had the resources.

Dear Rose,

I stumbled across your blog this morning and was thrilled to see that someone has taken such a devoted interest not only in preserving Pike County’s history, but keeping it local and available to the community. I grew up in Pike County so its history is near and dear to my heart. In fact, it’s why I’m writing to you. I am currently getting my PhD in History at the University of Kentucky and my research is on coal miners and their families in Indiana, southern Illinois, and western Kentucky in the 1890s. Until I saw your blog, I had actually assumed that Pike County’s records were already up at Indy since many Indiana counties have sent their records there. That said, I wanted to let you know that I appreciate your efforts at keeping the library issue and Pike County history alive. Without your blog, I probably would have never known where to look for Pike County sources. Thank you!

 Also, I realize I’m a bit late to the game on the Barrett Library and I’m no longer a Pike County resident so I doubt anyone would care much about my opinion, but if there is any way I can help keep these documents in Pike County and open to the public, please let me know. Residents should be able to have access to their own past and that simply can’t happen if these records get sent to storage or Indy.
 
All the best,
 Dana Caldemeyer
I receive many such emails.
 One summer a few years back a lovely couple from Washington State arrived on my doorstep unannounced.  They were retired.  They spent their summers driving around in an RV working on their genealogy.  We talked for hours.  They stayed at Prides Creek and visited the library and local cemeteries.
Here are some recent blogs  from Jared in Arkansas,  researching his  Richardson family history in Pike County.
Read the comments others have left on my blogs in support of the history being kept here.  Many are people from out of state who travel here to find their history.
Library Board Members:

Donna Poehlin:   Voted against the History Center

Phillip Elkins:  Board President:  Voted against the History Center

Anisia Burkhart:  Voted For the History Center

M. Frank Ropp:  Voted against the History Center

James Dickerson:  Voted for the History Center

Sandra Ficklin:  Voted for the History Center

Robin Whaley:  Voted against the History Center

County Commissioners:  

Brian Davis

Jeff Nelson

Ryan Coleman

County Council :   

Max Elliott

Joe Sutton

Greg Willis

Myreon Krohn

Dennis Bishop

Randy Harris

Greg Mangin

Let’s see if we can change some minds and hearts to support the History Center!

5 comments on “Support For The Barrett Memorial Library History Center

  1. Rose says:

    That did not look so messy when I typed it. I hope it corrects itself 🙂

  2. allan gieselman says:

    At least we can look forward to the fact that you and John Dedman are doing everything within your power to preserve our history and now that it’s out there on the WEB, it can never be lost completely…Thank you two for what you do!!!!!!

    • Rose says:

      Thank you for the compliment. Imagine the blogs I could write if all of the records hidden away in basements and cubbyholes were available to me!

  3. Ruth Riddle says:

    I cannot believe that a Pike County resident would vote against something that would benefit the people of Pike County and others that came from our area, as if the money were coming out of their pocket. They either have no ancestry here or are not interested in it. I am interested in all my ancestors even if they weren’t high society or famous. I’m not either one nor are my Pike County ancestors but I’m still interested. I salute you and John for your hard efforts on our behalf. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

