Hey, I’m still here!! And a fun 1939 article.

It has been so long since I blogged I didn’t recognize my own site when I started the writing process today 🙂  WordPress has done some updates.   I have not lost interest, but I’ve had other priorities the past year that have kept me occupied.

This past month though I have caught the history/genealogy bug again.I have been trying to organize my own records and go through stacks of stuff.  Indiana has released records, birth, death, wills…. these are so interesting.   The library at Petersburg has Ancestry.com for free if you want to find some of these without paying the high cost of being a member.  The genealogy section at the Petersburg library has a lot of good stuff too.  Today I was browsing through a book of old Winslow Dispatches Vicki had sitting out on the table.  Actually I became absorbed in them. They were from the late 1930s and early 1940s.   I found my dad’s birth announcement and copied a few things for some other friends that I found along the way.

There was also this from 1939.  Apparently it was a running article in the Winslow Dispatch because I read a few of them.  For your enjoyment I give you “Winslow As She Is On Saturday Afternoon”.

Winslowarticle

 

8 comments on “Hey, I’m still here!! And a fun 1939 article.

  1. Jo Ann Brewster Radcliff says:

    I love reading the Pike County paper, 1902. Thanks Rose for this article.

  2. Eddie Casson says:

    Love the history!!! Thank you!!! xoxo

  3. allan gieselman says:

    Loved it.

  4. Lanora Kelley says:

    The author of this column, Clarence Dayton was my Great-uncle. He was a veteran of the Spanish-American War. Uncle Clarence always knew where to find the biggest wild blackberries. His son Roy was a teacher at Winslow.

  5. Dinah Walton says:

    What fun to read 😃

  6. Anonymous says:

    Wonderful, Thank you

  7. Bill Bussell says:

    I worked for AMAX Coal, and by default, it owned Ayrshire. I tried to follow the link about Ayrshire and the Goodrich family, but it failed to resolve. I hope you can check and fix this. Cheers

Leave a Reply

